BIO TA Awards

2022 TA winners demonstrating "Hook 'em Horns" hand signs.

Congratulations to Our 2022 Teaching Assistant Award Winners! 

On Tuesday, May 10th, 2022 the Biology Instructional Office announced the winners of the 21-22 BIO Oustanding Teaching Assistant award. Out of over 200 TA positions appointed during the past year, we had 9 TAs and 10 UGCAs nominated for this honor, but could choose only 6 to win the award. The list below includes all of the nominees. Winners are indicated by *.

We would like to thank these TAs & UGCAs, both the award winners and those nominated, for being outstanding teaching assistants. TAs are an integral part of the teaching experience and you have gone above and beyond what has been asked of you. Thank you!


2022 TA Award Nominees

Winners indicated by *




Caitlyn Wilson* Katie Bruner BIO 325L
Emily Lessig* Hans Hoffman BIO 361T
Esteban Cantu Anita Latham BIO 311C
Haley Hardtke Jessie Zhang BCH 370
Nicole Butler Marty Maas BIO 206L
Nicole Johnson Susanne Ressl NEU 337
Soroosh Sadeh David Cannatella, William Babler BIO 446L
Sten Stray-Gundersen* Jan Machart BIO 165U
Viviana June Inder Saxena BIO 325




Catherine Tang Inder Saxena BIO 325
Jackson Burns* Ann Thijs BIO 311D
Joanna Lee Ian Cheng BIO 365S
Lais Haddad Marty Maas BIO 206L
Paul Fliedner* Shelley Payne BIO 361
Roman Martinez Goheun Kim BIO 325
Shalini Ramachandran* Jennifer Fritz BIO 311C
Sierra Wood Pratibha Saxena BIO 326M
Simran Shah Pratibha Saxena BIO 326M
Tammy Huynh Jonathan Partridge BIO 311C
See our past TA Award Winners & Nominees: